Wed. 2nd Week of Advent

IS 40: 28-31 The LORD is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He does not faint or grow weary, his understanding is unsearchable. He gives power to the faint, and to him who has no might he increases strength. Even youths shall faint and be weary, and young men shall fall exhausted; but they who wait for the LORD shall renew their strength, they shall mount up with wings like eagles, they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint.

The other evening, I had some co-workers over for dinner. One of the ladies is preparing to travel to Haiti this summer on a mission trip. She has read books and watched videos getting ready to go. She looked around the table and said, “Do you know all of us sitting around this table are 95% richer than most people of the world?” she finished by saying, “I think about that and wonder, Why me? Why did God choose me to be born here in the US?”

That made me wondered too. Why me? Why has God chosen to bless me with family, friends, but the real question is why has He chosen to bless me with my faith and to live in a country where I can practice what I believe? Like a parent sometimes says, “Just because…” is what God says, but the truth is he loves me for who I am, how I am and where I am, just the way I am. I need to learn to love others for these very same reasons.

Thank you Lord God for choosing me to live here a free country to practice my faith. Help to grow in my love for you and for others.

red, yellow and green

Leave a Reply

